PLAYMAKER
The Playmaker
Let's play
PLAYMAKER
  • It's Wednesday
    What day is it?
  • Now
    What time is it?
  • Anywhere in Sydney
    Where are you?
  • What do you feel like?
    What do you feel like?
  • And what else?
    And what else?
  • LET'S PLAY
10° & CLOUDY ON WEDNESDAY 20 JUNE IN SYDNEY
ARTS & ENTERTAINMENT

Twilight at Taronga Has Unveiled Its 2018 Zoo Gig Program

Pick a picnic and spend an eve at Taronga with the likes of The Jezebels, Neil and Liam Finn, The Preatures and Julia Jacklin.
By Tom Clift
October 11, 2017
  shares

Twilight at Taronga Has Unveiled Its 2018 Zoo Gig Program

Pick a picnic and spend an eve at Taronga with the likes of The Jezebels, Neil and Liam Finn, The Preatures and Julia Jacklin.
By Tom Clift
October 11, 2017
  shares

No longer just the realms of Monica Trapaga residencies and kiddie-aimed pantomimes, Twilight at Taronga — the after-hours live music series that boasts perhaps the best view of Sydney Harbour as well as lots of adorable animals — has proven it's got some real cred when it comes to hosting outdoor gigs in the past few years. The 2017 lineup featured the likes of Peter Garrett, Kurt Vile and Killing Heidi, and, from the looks of things, 2018 will be even bigger.

Held in Taronga Zoo's natural amphitheatre, the concert series kicks off on Friday, February 2 with a set by Sydney legends The Jezebels. They'll be followed on Saturday by singer-songwriter Dan Sultan, who'll perform alongside Melbourne's The Teskey Brothers. Other standouts include Neil and Liam Finn, The Preatures, Cloud Control with Julia Jacklin, retro faves The Lemonheads and a Valentine's Day special edition of the cult rock music trivia show RocKwiz.

They've also announced partnerships with Electric Lady presenting Montaigne, Tired Lion and Sloan Peterson, and Future Classic presenting Mount Kimbie, Kučka and Christopher Port. And yes, ABBA tribute act Bjorn Again will be back by popular demand.

Picnic-bringing is encouraged, but there'll also be incredibly delicious hampers available onsite. Tickets go on sale at 9am on Tuesday, October 17, and include same-day entry into the zoo plus free select public transport. As always, all proceeds will go to the go back into Taronga's ongoing conservation work.

TWILIGHT AT TARONGA 2018 LINEUP

Friday, February 2 - The Jezabels
Saturday, February 3 - Dan Sultan with The Teskey Brothers
Friday, February 9 - Paul Dempsey
Saturday, February 10 - Neil and Liam Finn
Wednesday, February 14 - RocKwiz
Thursday, February 15 - RocKwiz
Saturday, February 17 - Cloud Control and Julia Jacklin
Friday, February 23 - Bjorn Again
Saturday, February 24 - Bjorn Again
Thursday, March 1 - The Lemonheads and Jebediah
Friday, March 2 - The Preatures supported by The Creases
Saturday, March 3 - Electric Lady presents - Montaigne, Tired Lion and Sloan Peterson
Friday, March 9 - Future Classic presents - Mount Kimbie, Kučka and Christopher Port
Saturday, March 10 - James Morrison
Sunday, March 11 - James Reyne Plays All Crawl
Friday, March 16 - Kate Miller-Heidke supported by Odette
Saturday, March 17 - Tex, Don and Charlie

Twilight at Taronga will run from February 2 until March 17, 2018. Tickets go on sale at 9am on Tuesday, October 17 at twilightattaronga.com.

Published on October 11, 2017 by Tom Clift

Tap and select Add to Home Screen to access Concrete Playground easily next time. x