The Playmaker
Let's play
  • It's Sunday
    What day is it?
  • Now
    What time is it?
  • Anywhere in Melbourne
    Where are you?
  • What do you feel like?
    What do you feel like?
  • And what else?
    And what else?

This Year's Australian International Beer Awards Have Revealed the Country's Top Brewers

35 trophies were awarded with favourites like Hop Nation, Bentspoke and Dollar Bill Brewing honoured.
By Libby Curran
May 21, 2021
By Libby Curran
May 21, 2021

Victoria cleaned up at the 2021 Australian International Beer Awards (AIBA), with the state's breweries taking out an impressive 12 trophies at the annual awards ceremony. The beer competition saw a swag of southern labels emerge victorious, competing with a 400-strong line-up of brewers from across the globe.

Ballarat-based Dollar Bill Brewing took out the top slot of Champion Australian Beer for its Gold Teeth peach wild ale, with the tipple also named as the AIBA's Best Fruit Beer. Meanwhile, Footscray's Hop Nation snapped up the title of Champion Medium Australian Brewery, as well as claiming awards for Champion Victorian Brewery, Best Pilsner (for its recently released Rattenhund) and Best Amber/Dark Ale. Valhalla Brewing, Two Birds Brewing Co. and Fixation were also among the Victorian breweries to win big on the night.

Sydney's 4 Pines was named Champion Large Australian Brewery, with Western Australia's Cheeky Monkey taking out the small brewery division. Other Aussie favourites in the awardee mix included Foghorn, Sunday Road, Six String, the ACT's Bentspoke Brewing Co, Western Australian brewery King Road, and Queensland's Burleigh Brewing Company.

Of the more than 2500 beer entries, plenty came from overseas, with South Korea's Goose Island Brewhouse, China's Nbeer Craft Brewing Co and Taiwanese label Zhang Men among the international names that scooped awards. Across the ditch, Auckland's Deep Creek Brewing Company was named Champion International Beer for its Sauvage farmhouse ale, also collecting the title of Champion Large International Brewery.

Each year, the AIBA recognises excellence in brewing, beer packaging design and beer media. This year's victors were picked earlier this month by a team of 67 expert judges, including Ben Kraus (Bridge Road Brewers), Jayne Lewis (Two Birds), Justin Fox (Hawke's Brewing Co), Tina Panoutsos (Carlton & United Breweries) and Warren Pawsey (Little Creatures).

For the full lineup of this year's AIBA awardees, jump over to the website.

Published on May 21, 2021 by Libby Curran
  •   shares
Tap and select Add to Home Screen to access Concrete Playground easily next time. x
Counter Pixel