Victoria Is Reintroducing Strict Stay-at-Home Orders in Ten Melbourne Postcodes for Four Weeks

From 11.59pm on July 1, if you live in one of the suburbs listed, you'll only be able to leave your home for one of four reasons: work or school, care or care giving, exercise or to get food and other essentials.
Samantha Teague
June 30, 2020

As Victoria's COVID-19 cases have started to increase again over the past couple of weeks — with 233 new cases recorded since June 25, and 64 in the past 24 hours — the State Government has extended its State of Emergency for four more weeks, launched a suburban testing blitz and tightened some gathering restrictions for all Victorians. Now, it's reintroducing strict stay-at-home orders for ten Melbourne postcodes that are experiencing the worst community transmission of coronavirus.

Coming into place at 11.59pm tomorrow, Wednesday, July 1 until least Wednesday, July 29, the new rules are very familiar. They're what were in place at stage three of the state's COVID-19 restrictions in late March. So, if you're in one of the "hot zones" postcodes, you'll only be able to leave your home for one of four reasons: for work or school, for care or care giving, for daily exercise or for food and other essentials.

You won't be able to have friends and family visit either — unless it's for care — but the Victorian Chief Health Officer Brett Sutton said a decision about whether or not you can visit your partner will be announced tomorrow (before the rules come into force).

Plus, businesses in these suburbs will need to revert back to stage three rules, too. Which means, restaurants and cafes must offer takeaway only, and gyms, galleries, beauty parlours, swimming pools, libraries and theatres will need to close.

These rules will also effect all Victorians who usually go into these suburbs — you won't be able to enter an impacted suburb, unless it's for one of the four aforementioned reasons.

The ten postcodes that will be required to return to stage three stay-at-home restrictions tomorrow are:

  • 3012: Brooklyn, Kingsville, Maidstone, Tottenham and West Footscray
  • 3021: Albanvale, Kealba, Kings Park, St Albans
  • 3032: Ascot Vale, Highpoint City, Maribyrnong, Travancore
  • 3038: Keilor Downs, Keilor Lodge, Taylors Lakes, Watergardens
  • 3042: Airport West, Keilor Park, Niddrie
  • 3046: Glenroy, Hadfield, Oak Park
  • 3047: Broadmeadows, Dallas, Jacana
  • 3055: Brunswick South, Brunswick West, Moonee Vale, Moreland West
  • 3060: Fawkner
  • 3064: Craigieburn, Donnybrook, Mickleham, Roxburgh Park and Kalkallo

Premier Daniel Andrews said the restrictions were reintroduced as the recent COVID-19 figures are "unacceptably high" and "pose a real threat to all of us".

"I know this will be terribly disruptive and difficult but if everyone sticks to the rules and we see transmission come down, then in four weeks the restrictions can lift," the Premier said in a statement released today, Tuesday, June 30.

The Premier also said that Victorian Police will be actively enforcing the suburban lockdowns and on-the-spot fines, as in the initial lockdown, will apply.

It's also possible, that if cases continue to rise, other Melbourne postcodes will also need to go back into lockdown, too.

Stay-at-home restrictions will come into force in the above ten suburbs at 11.59pm on Wednesday, July 1. For more information, head to the Victorian Department of Health and Human Services website

Published on June 30, 2020 by Samantha Teague
Tap and select Add to Home Screen to access Concrete Playground easily next time. x