The Playmaker
Let's play
PLAYMAKER
  • It's Saturday
    What day is it?
  • Now
    What time is it?
  • Anywhere in Wellington
    Where are you?
  • What do you feel like?
    What do you feel like?
  • And what else?
    And what else?
  • LET'S PLAY
18° & PARTLY CLOUDY ON SATURDAY 4 APRIL IN WELLINGTON
FOOD & DRINK

Massimo Bottura's Kitchen Quarantine

Catch nightly online cooking tutorials from one of the world's top chefs — while he's in lockdown.
By Libby Curran
March 19, 2020
  shares

Massimo Bottura's Kitchen Quarantine

Catch nightly online cooking tutorials from one of the world's top chefs — while he's in lockdown.
By Libby Curran
March 19, 2020
  shares

Just because you're cooped at home doesn't mean you have to sink into a monotonous existence of spaghetti and canned tuna. You can, in face, add a bit of flair to your cooking repertoire without leaving the house, thanks to a new series of free virtual cooking classes from one of the world's greatest chefs.

Massimo Bottura — the Michelin-starred chef behind Italy's famed Osteria Francescana (which is temporarily closed during Italy's nationwide lockdown) and Gucci's glam new LA eatery — is keeping his quarantined spirits high by sharing his culinary secrets with the masses via nightly tutorials live streamed on Instagram.

The fittingly titled Kitchen Quarantine is designed to help spread feelings of connectivity, curb boredom and teach a few new tricks, at a time when an increasing chunk of the world's population is in lockdown (as Italy is), self-isolation or self distancing. And of course, with Bottura's famously cheery personality, the guy's just a total joy to watch.

Handily enough, the videos are in English, and they've so far covered dishes like a vegetable thai curry and cream tortellini.

The show's live on Instagram nightly at 8pm CET, which is 6am AEDT, 5am in Brisbane and 8am NZDT. But if that's a little early, you can also catch the videos screened later on San Pellegrino's Fine Dining Lovers YouTube channel.

Bottura's Instagram also has a series of Q&A's with the chef, which you can catch any time.

  •   shares
      shares
  • VIEW COMMENTS

SIMILAR EVENTS

  • List
  • Map

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Tap and select Add to Home Screen to access Concrete Playground easily next time. x