The Playmaker
Let's play
  • It's Friday
    What day is it?
  • Now
    What time is it?
  • Anywhere in Brisbane
    Where are you?
  • What do you feel like?
    What do you feel like?
  • And what else?
    And what else?

Queensland Is Expanding Its Border Zone So You Can Travel to Byron Bay Without Quarantining

The state is opening up to the Byron, Ballina, Lismore, Richmond Valley and Glen Innes council areas — but you'll still need a border pass.
By Sarah Ward
September 22, 2020
By Sarah Ward
September 22, 2020

The status of Queensland's borders has changed multiple times in 2020, and whether they're open to other states or not has attracted ample public and political attention over the past few months. At present, the Sunshine State has closed off access to anyone who has been in Victoria and New South Wales in the past 14 days — and, in August, revealed that that's unlikely to change until there has been no community transmission in those states.

Small shifts in Queensland's border policy have been coming into effect, however. From Friday, September 25, ACT residents will be able to enter the state, but only if they're flying in. And, from Thursday, October 1, Queensland will also expand its border zone — allowing folks from several local council areas in northern New South Wales to head north without quarantining, and letting Queenslanders trek south to the same area without a 14-day stint in lockdown upon their return as well.

As announced today, Tuesday, September 22, Queensland will open to people in the Byron, Ballina, Lismore, Richmond Valley and Glen Innes council areas. They'll be able to enter the Sunshine State — and travel around the state — for any reason once October hits.

For Queenslanders, the reverse applies, albeit still within the border zone. Still, that means that heading down to Byron Bay is back on the agenda.

BREAKING: Queensland’s border zone will expand from 1am on Thursday, October 1 to include Byron, Ballina, Lismore,...

Posted by Annastacia Palaszczuk MP on Monday, 21 September 2020

Whichever way you're travelling — whether you're a northern NSW resident keen to come to Queensland, or a resident of the latter eager to venture slightly beyond the state's borders for a bit and then head home — you will still need a border pass. It isn't required to leave the state, but NSW folks will need one to enter and Queenslanders will need one to come back. To obtain a pass, you'll need to apply online, with each one valid for seven days.

For more information about Queensland's borders policies, head to the Queensland Government website.

Published on September 22, 2020 by Sarah Ward


Tap and select Add to Home Screen to access Concrete Playground easily next time. x
Counter Pixel