The Playmaker
Let's play
  • It's Monday
    What day is it?
  • Now
    What time is it?
  • Anywhere in Sydney
    Where are you?
  • What do you feel like?
    What do you feel like?
  • And what else?
    And what else?

The ACT Has Lifted Some of Its Border Restrictions with New South Wales

Effective since Tuesday, January 12, only folks who've been in 11 specific local government areas are currently unable to enter the territory.
By Sarah Ward
January 13, 2021
By Sarah Ward
January 13, 2021

Among the many challenges that Australians have faced over the past year, our love of travel has been hit hard — including in our own backyard. Domestic border restrictions keep changing with frequency in response to new cases and clusters in different states, meaning that planning a holiday beyond your own city has been more than a little tricky, and looks set to continue that way for the foreseeable future.

If you're a New South Wales resident who's keen to take a trip to the Australian Capital Territory, however, some good news has just arrived — for most of the state, that is. Folks who've been to areas classed 'COVID-19 affected' are unable to enter the ACT under its border restrictions, which has included Greater Sydney, the Central Coast and Wollongong in response to the cluster that popped up just before Christmas. Since 3pm on Tuesday, January 12, however, the ACT has reduced the number of NSW spots on its list.

The Central Coast and Wollongong are no longer classified as COVID-19 affected areas. Within Greater Sydney, only 11 local government areas remain on the list, too. So, folks who live in or have been to the Blacktown City, Burwood, Canada Bay City, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield City, Inner West, Liverpool City, Northern Beaches, Paramatta City and Strathfield Municipality in the last fortnight are still unable to head to the ACT — but everyone else in NSW can.

The loosened rules cover both ACT residents and non-residents, and will remain in place at least until Tuesday, January 19, when they'll next be assessed.

Non ACT-residents who have been in the 11 LGAs still deemed 'COVID-19 affected' are not legally permitted to enter the ACT without applying for exemption, which'll only be given in "extraordinary circumstances". Folks who live in the ACT who fall into the same category can return, but have to fill out an online declaration first, then quarantine at home for 14 days upon arrival.

For everyone else in NSW, you can now head to the ACT without a declaration or quarantining.

At the time of writing, NSW has reported seven new COVID-19 cases in the 24 hours until 8pm on Tuesday, January 12, which includes one local case and six acquired from overseas.

For further details about the ACT's border restrictions, head to the territory's COVID-19 hubFor more information about the status of COVID-19 in NSW, head to the NSW Health website

Published on January 13, 2021 by Sarah Ward

Tap and select Add to Home Screen to access Concrete Playground easily next time. x
Counter Pixel