The Playmaker
Let's play
  • It's Wednesday
    What day is it?
  • Now
    What time is it?
  • Anywhere in Auckland
    Where are you?
  • What do you feel like?
    What do you feel like?
  • And what else?
    And what else?

Vivaldi Recomposed / Three Worlds

Max Richter presents a captivating performance by some of the country’s finest musicians.
By Olivia Round
February 26, 2018
By Olivia Round
February 26, 2018

Vivaldi's iconic Four Seasons has been reinvigorated by pianist Max Richter of the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra in a post modern expression.

Richter's passion for Vivaldi's triumphant violin concerti is both a homage to the masterpiece and an outlet for the musician to inject his paroxysm, care for the integrity of the work and labour of love. The work maintains the strikingly recognisable motifs, with electronica undertones, unusual rhythms and bold atmospheric soundscapes.

The piece was requested by The Royal Ballet for a dance piece based on the Virginia Woolf novels Mrs Dalloway, Orlando and The Waves. Richter magically honours Woolf's genius prose with an emotive, creative and cinematic score, performed by soprano Grace Davidson, soloist Mari Samuelsen and the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra.

This is a great opportunity to introduce the next generation to real classical music with a modern twist in a captivating performance by some of the country's finest musician.

  •   shares
Tap and select Add to Home Screen to access Concrete Playground easily next time. x
Counter Pixel